Staff

EVENTS

From Grain to Plate Field Day

Date: June 30, 2019, 10:30am-3pm
Location: Meadowlark Organic Farm, Ridgeway, WI
details

Container Farms: Unique Structures for Growing Vegetables

Date: July 7, 2019, 10-3
Location: Badger Rock Neighborhood Center, Madison
details

Growing Food in Urban Areas

Date: July 13, 2019, 8:30-4:30
Location: Troy Farm, Madison
details

more events

SUCCESS STORIES

The Wisconsin School for Beginning Dairy and Livestock Farmers: Keeping the Dream of Farming Alive

As older farmers retire, fewer young farmers are stepping in to take their place. The number of beginning farmers dropped 20 percent in the last five-year census period, and the average US farmer now tops 58 years of age. more

CIAS Mini-Grants Support Graduate Student Research in Sustainable Agriculture

CIAS supports innovative graduate student research addressing the challenges faced by small- and medium-sized farms and food businesses. Awarded annually, our competitive mini-grants aid students as they initiate their research in sustainable agriculture and food systems. more


MARKET FARM MADNESS

Announcing the 2019 Market Farm Madness Champion!

Hoophouse is your 2019 Market Farm Madness champion! They withstood high winds, late snow storms and controversy over cost share payments to win the tournament. more

more madness

The mailing address for all CIAS staff members is: CIAS, 1535 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706

Alber, Nadia

Outreach specialist, Wisconsin School for Beginning Dairy and Livestock Farmers
(608) 265-6437
nadia.alber@gmail.com

Bennett, Sandy

Administrator
Phone: 608-262-9928
skbennet@wisc.edu

Carusi, Cris

Associate Director of Communications
Phone: (608) 262-8018
cecarusi@wisc.edu

Day Farnsworth, Lindsey

Associate scientist, food systems
(608) 890-2433
ldfarnsworth@wisc.edu

Fischbach, Jason

Associate staff, perennial crops
Bayfield County Cooperative Extension
(715) 373-6104
jason.fischbach@ces.uwex.edu

Grace, Jacob

Grazing and perennial agriculture specialist
(608) 265-4213
jacob.grace@wisc.edu

Hendrickson, John

Program manager, fresh market vegetables and food systems
Coordinator, Wisconsin School for Beginning Market Growers
(608) 265-3704
jhendric@wisc.edu

Herald, Vanessa

Farm to School, Farm to Institution, Farm to Early Care and Education
(608) 263-6064
vherald@wisc.edu

Mayerfeld, Diane

Associate staff, Wisconsin SARE
(608) 262-8188
dbmayerfeld@wisc.edu

Maynard, Kelly

Associate outreach specialist, food systems
(608) 262-9751
kelly.maynard@wisc.edu

McNair, Ruth

Editor
(608) 265-6479
ramcnair@wisc.edu

Miller, Michelle

Associate Director of Programs
Food systems, eco fruit
(608) 262-7135
mmmille6@wisc.edu

Oosterwyk, Johanna

Associate staff, Horticulture
(608) 262-3844
jmooster@wisc.edu

Porter, Pam

Research program manager
pporter@wisc.edu

Sanford, Gregg

Research Scientist, Wisconsin Integrated Cropping Systems Trial
gsanford@glbrc.wisc.edu

Turnquist, Alan

Associate staff, Agroecology and
GreenHouse Residential Learning Community
alturnquist@wisc.edu

Wattiaux, Michel

CIAS Interim Director
Department of Dairy Science
wattiaux@wisc.edu

     page 1 of 1