Staff

EVENTS

UW Organic Vegetable Field Day

Date: September 8, 2015, 4-7pm
Location: Verona, WI
details

Association of Specialty Cut Flower Growers: Wisconsin Grower Intensive

Date: October 4-6, 2015
Location: Sheraton Madison Hotel, Madison, WI
details

Midwest CSA Conference

Date: December 3-4, 2015
Location: The Plaza, Eau Claire, WI
details

more events

SUCCESS STORIES

CIAS Mini-Grants Support Graduate Student Research in Sustainable Agriculture

CIAS supports innovative graduate student research addressing the challenges faced by small- and medium-sized farms and food businesses. Awarded annually, our competitive mini-grants aid students as they initiate their research in sustainable agriculture and food systems. more

CIAS Eco-Fruit Program Receives Wisconsin Idea Award

Since 2000, the CIAS Eco-Fruit program has been helping growers reduce or eliminate risk from pesticides by using IPM. Participating growers have reduced their pesticide risk by 46 percent and increased their reliance on IPM strategies by 54 percent. more


DIRECTOR'S BLOG

Northern Nut Growers Conference Features Wisconsin Hazelnut Production

The Northern Nut Growers Association (NNGA), in partnership with CIAS and UW-Extension, held the 106th NNGA conference in La Crosse, July 27-29. About 150 participants from across the country gathered for three days to talk about the business of nut production, processing and marketing in the context of agroforestry and perennialization. more

more blog

The mailing address for all CIAS staff members is: CIAS, 1535 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706

Alber, Nadia

Outreach specialist, Wisconsin School for Beginning Dairy and Livestock Farmers
(608) 265-6437
nadia.alber@gmail.com

Bell, Michael

CIAS Director
Department of Community and Environmental Sociology
(608) 262-5201
michaelbell@wisc.edu

Bennett, Sandy

Administrator
Phone: 608-262-9928
skbennet@wisc.edu

Carusi, Cris

Communications manager
Phone: (608) 262-8018
cecarusi@wisc.edu

Cates, Dick

Coordinator, Wisconsin School for Beginning Dairy and Livestock Farmers
Phone: (608) 265-6437
rlcates@wisc.edu

Day Farnsworth, Lindsey

Associate staff, urban agriculture and food systems
(608) 890-2433
ldfarnsworth@wisc.edu

Fischbach, Jason

Associate staff, perennial crops
Bayfield County Cooperative Extension
(715) 373-6104
jason.fischbach@ces.uwex.edu

Gurda, Anders

Associate staff, Plant Pathology
agurda@wisc.edu

Hendrickson, John

Program manager, fresh market vegetables and food systems
Coordinator, Wisconsin School for Beginning Market Growers
(608) 265-3704
jhendric@wisc.edu

Herald, Vanessa

Great Lakes Region Farm to School Network
(608) 263-6064
vherald@wisc.edu

Mayerfeld, Diane

Associate staff, Wisconsin SARE
(608) 262-8188
dbmayerfeld@wisc.edu

Maynard, Kelly

Associate outreach specialist, food systems
kmaynard@wisc.edu

McNair, Ruth

Editor
(608) 265-6479
ramcnair@wisc.edu

Miller, Michelle

Associate Director, outreach
Food systems, eco fruit
(608) 262-7135
mmmille6@wisc.edu

Oosterwyk, Johanna

Associate staff, Horticulture
(608) 262-3844
jmooster@wisc.edu

Paul, Brad

Honorary fellow
bpaul3@wisc.edu

Pfeiffer, Anne

Associate staff, urban agriculture
(608) 890-1905
anne.pfeiffer@ces.uwex.edu

Porter, Pam

Research program manager
608-262-5202
pporter@wisc.edu

Raboin, Matt

Associate outreach specialist, perennialization
raboin@wisc.edu

Sanford, Gregg

Associate staff, Wisconsin Integrated Cropping Systems Trial
gsanford@glbrc.wisc.edu

Suryanarayanan, Sai

Associate staff, Community and Environmental Sociology
(608) 698-0592
suryanas@entomology.wisc.edu

Turnquist, Alan

Associate staff, Agroecology and
GreenHouse Residential Learning Community
alturnquist@wisc.edu

     page 1 of 1