Faculty Associates

EVENTS

Loving of the Land Concert

Date: April 26, 2014, 8:00pm
Location: UW-Madison Music Hall
details

Ride to Farm

Date: May 31, 2014
Location: Ride starts and ends at Birch Lake Park, Barneveld, WI
details

more events

SUCCESS STORIES

CIAS Mini-Grants Support Graduate Student Research in Sustainable Agriculture

CIAS supports innovative graduate student research addressing the challenges faced by small- and medium-sized farms and food businesses. Awarded annually, our competitive mini-grants aid students as they initiate their research in sustainable agriculture and food systems.

CIAS Eco-Fruit Program Receives Wisconsin Idea Award

Since 2000, the CIAS Eco-Fruit program has been helping growers reduce or eliminate risk from pesticides by using IPM. Participating growers have reduced their pesticide risk by 46 percent and increased their reliance on IPM strategies by 54 percent.


DIRECTOR'S BLOG

What Does it Mean to Eat Well?

CIAS launched its 25th anniversary celebration with a seminar addressing the question: What does it mean to eat well? CIAS has been asking questions like this since our inception in 1989, and we continue to explore this topic as we move into the future. In order to truly eat well, a healthy appetite includes a desire to understand our food through the land, people and communities who sustain it.

more blog

Albrecht, Ken

Department of Agronomy
kaalbrec@wisc.edu

Bell, Michael

CIAS Director
Department of Community and Environmental Sociology
(608) 515-8151
michaelbell@wisc.edu

Bland, Bill

Department of Soil Science
wlbland@wisc.edu

Casler, Mike

Department of Agronomy
mdcasler@wisc.edu

Charkowski, Amy

Department of Plant Pathology
acharkowski@wisc.edu

Collins, Jane

Department of Community and Environmental Sociology
jcollins@ssc.wisc.edu

Combs, Dave

Department of Dairy Science
dkcombs@wisc.edu

Cullen, Eileen

Department of Entomology
cullen@entomology.wisc.edu

     page 1 of 5      Next Page >>